15 March 2020 – Six states and Capital District enter quarantine phase

Type of Intervention: Executive Order, Specific Action
Sectors Involved: Executive Office, Health, Local Government, Military, Police and Interior Affairs
Intervention Categories: Individual measures; Social and physical distancing measures; Domestic travel
Level of Jurisdiction: National
Lead People/Agency: Presidency of the Republic and Presidential Commission for the Prevention and Care of Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Overview: Collective quarantine declared in six states and the Capital District to contain COVID-19

Starting this Monday, March 16, the collective quarantine phase will enter into force in six states and the Capital District as a measure of prevention and containment of the coronavirus (COVID-19) in Venezuela.

The announcement was made by the President of the Republic, Nicolás Maduro, who explained that the measure will be effective from 5:00 in the morning in the states of Apure, Cojedes, La Guaira, Miranda, Zulia and Táchira, as well as in the Capital District .
The quarantine exempts the food distribution chain, health and health services, police and military security, as well as the transport system with the absolute obligation of requiring the use of a mask.

Full details here: http://www.mpps.gob.ve/index.php/sala-de-prensa/notnac/348-declaran-cuarentena-colectiva-en-seis-estados-y-el-distrito-capital-para-contener-la-covid-19

Type of Justification: Advice of INTERNAL government advisory committee or group, Learning from other jurisdictions, Scientific Evidence (e.g. academic paper, report)
Source of Evidence or Justification: World Health Organisation, National – government
Evidence/Justification: WHO recommendations