29 March 2020 – California, Louisiana, Washington and Atlanta, Chicago, Illinois, Miami added to mandatory self-quarantine list for new arrivals

Type of Intervention: Executive Order
Sectors Involved: Civil Defence
Intervention Categories: Social and physical distancing measures; Domestic travel
Level of Jurisdiction: Texas
Lead People/Agency: Governor of the State of Texas

Overview: A proclamation adding states and cities to the list set forth in a prior executive order for mandatory self-quarantine of 14 days, for air travelers flying to Texas from areas experiencing substantial community spread of COVID-19 to include the states of California, Louisiana, and Washington and the cities of Atlanta, Georgia: Chicago, Illinois; Detroit, Michigan; and Miami. Florida.
Full details here: https://gov.texas.gov/uploads/files/press/DISASTER_COVID19_disaster_air_travel_restric_adds_IMAGE_03-29-2020.pdf

Type of Justification: Perception of an increased threat
Evidence/Justification: On March 26, 2020, Executive Order GA-i 1 imposed a mandatory self quarantine of 14 days for air travelers flying to Texas from certain areas experiencing substantial community spread of COVID-19; and provided that additional states or cities could be
added to that mandatory self-quarantine by proclamation thereafter.