11 March 2020 – Closed border to travelers from Europe

Intervention Categories: International travel measures
Level of Jurisdiction: Federal

Overview: The White House, through U.S. Presidential Proclamation 9993, banned entry of non-U.S. citizens who are from or recently been in most European countries. U.S. citizens traveling from those countries were required to self-quarantine for 14 days.

The European countries included those in the Schengen Area, which are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The ban went into effect at 11:59pm eastern time on March 13. On March 16 the ban was extended to cover the United Kingdom and Ireland.

The ban excluded: U.S. permanent residents; non-citizens spouses of citizens or current residents; parents, legal guardians, or siblings of unmarried U.S. citizens or legal residents under 21 years of age; children or prospective adoptees of citizens or permanent residents; members, and spouses and children of members, of the U.S. Armed Forces; those traveling to the U.S. under invitation to combat COVID-19; air or sea crew; and other exemptions such as those under the scope of section 11 of the United Nations Headquarters Agreement and those determined by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, the Secretary of State, or the Secretary of Homeland Security.
Full details here: https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/03/16/2020-05578/suspension-of-entry-as-immigrants-and-nonimmigrants-of-certain-additional-persons-who-pose-a-risk-of