16 April 2020 – Extended border closure for non-essential travel to Sweden

Intervention Categories: International travel measures
Level of Jurisdiction: National

Overview: The Swedish Government has extended the border closure until 19 May. As before, the entry ban applies to all foreign nationals travelling to Sweden from countries other than EU countries, the UK, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland.

Swedish citizens are not covered by the ban. Nor does the entry ban prevent travel within the EU. In addition, there are two important exceptions to the entry ban. Firstly, EU citizens and persons who have a residence permit in Sweden are still allowed to enter in order to be able to return to their homes. Secondly, people with particularly urgent needs or who are to perform necessary functions in Sweden may enter. This may be the case, for example, for healthcare professionals, staff transporting goods or people with urgent family reasons.
Full details here: https://www.regeringen.se/pressmeddelanden/2020/04/forlangning-av-tillfalligt-inreseforbud-till-eu-via-sverige-med-anledning-av-covid-19/