16 March 2020 – Travel risk index raised for more than 30 countries

Type of Intervention: Advisory
Sectors Involved: Foreign Affairs, Tourism
Intervention Categories: International travel measures
Level of Jurisdiction: National
Lead People/Agency: Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Overview: Ministry of Foreign Affairs reassessed and adjusted the Risk Index for traveling for a number of countries. Current levels of risk are:
Level 5 (Warning to cease all trips and leave the country immediately): China, Iran;
Level 4 (Warning to suspend travel throughout the country (except where absolutely necessary): Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Republic of Korea, North Korea (DPRK), Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka;
Level 3 (Recommendation not to travel to certain areas of the country except where necessary): USA, Japan, Switzerland, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Netherlands, Belgium, Austria.
Level 2 (Caution – be informed about the current situation in the country): Serbia, Romania, Malaysia, Qatar, Australia, Canada, Greece, Czech Republic, Finland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovenia, Estonia, Iceland, Ireland, Poland.
Full details here: https://www.novinite.com/articles/203651/The+MFA+Raised+the+Travel+Risk+Index+for+these+Countries

Type of Justification: Perception of an increased threat