12 October 2020 – Temporary travel ban from Sabah to Peninsular Malaysia, Sarawak, and Labuan

Type of Intervention: Specific Action
Sectors Involved: Immigration
Level of Jurisdiction: National
Lead People/Agency: Senior Minister (Security) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob

Overview: The government issued a temporary travel ban from Sabah to Peninsular Malaysia, Sarawak and the Federal Territory of Labuan.
Full details here: https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2020/10/06/govt-issues-inter-state-travel-ban-to-and-from-sabah-from-oct-7-20

Type of Justification: Perception of an increased threat
Evidence/Justification: To reduce risk of infection spread after spike in COVID-19 cases in Sabah.