18 March 2020 – Closed borders to travellers from Europe

Intervention Categories: International travel measures
Level of Jurisdiction: National

Overview: The Government of India banned entry to India by passengers from member countries of the European Union, the European Free Trade Association, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

No airline was allowed to board a passenger from those nations to India with effect from 1200 GMT on 18 March 2020. The airline shall enforce this at the port of initial departure.

These instructions were temporary measures to 31 March 2020 and to be reviewed subsequently.
Full details here: https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1606637