20 March 2020 – Government applies quarantine restrictions on travellers from high-risk countries

Type of Intervention: Advisory, Executive Order
Sectors Involved: Foreign Affairs
Level of Jurisdiction: National
Lead People/Agency: Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Overview: Restricted Entry from high risk 17 countries of COVID-19. All incoming travellers including Myanmar nationals arriving from or having visited USA, Switzerland, UK, the Netherlands, Austria, Belgium, Norway, Sweden and Denmark in the past 14 days shall be subject to 14-day facility quarantine on their arrival in Myanmar. As for diplomats accredited to Myanmar and resident United Nations officials, they will be encouraged to take home quarantine for 14 days on their arrival in Myanmar. All are required to present Medical Certificate issued by a medical facility recognized by the health authorities of the respective states, of having no symptoms of acute respiratory illness (fever and cough or shortness of breath), before boarding any airline destined to Myanmar. The Myanmar Government temporarily suspends issuance of Visa on Arrival (VOA) and e-visa for all countries until 30 April 2020.
Full details here: https://www.globalnewlightofmyanmar.com/additional-precautionary-restrictions-for-travellers-visiting-myanmar-to-prevent-spread-of-covid-19/

Type of Justification: No justification given