15 March 2020 – Introduced a travel ban for certain foreign nationals and advised South Africans against travel to high risk regions

Intervention Categories: International travel measures
Level of Jurisdiction: National

Overview: The Government of South Africa introduced a travel ban on foreign nationals from high risk countries. The ban took effect on 18 March 2020.

High risk countries included Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United States, the United Kingdom and China. All visas to visitors from these countries were cancelled, and previously granted visas were revoked.

Any foreign national who visited a high risk country within 20 days was also denied a visa.

The Government also advised South Africans against travel to or through high risk countries.
Full details here: https://www.gov.za/speeches/statement-president-cyril-ramaphosa-measures-combat-covid-19-epidemic-15-mar-2020-0000